Pausing for Gratitude.


Emma Swan – what a divine name!!!! – was the girl who gifted me with the arts of gratitude in mind and heart.  I met her in 2009-10 as MissionMiraculus moved to pursue the ‘Road2Recovery Show’ back then, using a grant from the ‘service user’ branch of ‘Time-to-Change’ the illustriously bureaucratic and pretentious, Rethink dominated, Government & Lottery funded Mental Health ‘anti-stigma’ campaigning organ of the stigma delivering services such as psychiatric NHS care.

We are the authors of our own joy: and the inspirers of others'.

We are the authors of our own joy: and the inspirers of others’.

She was doing a research project on the  impact of gratitude back then and I offered to be a participant in the research. So I received my 2 weeks worth of forms (or was it a month?) with spaces to write down each day 5 things which I had noticed in that day for which I could feel appreciative and grateful.

I was a crap participant because I never gave her back the forms and I probably only filled in three at most.

But at a selfish level my life changed forever by this ‘workshop’. It embedded the arts of appreciative and grateful living in the deepest recesses of my mind – and though I slip at times and lose the plot, for the majority of my life I look outwards with a happy and optimistic eye and heart , and brush aside ‘negatives’ with a pretty careless air of wellbeing because my focus is no longer on what I DON’T  have, and what has disappointed me, and is so much more on what I do have and what delights me.

Click the following link for an amusing take on Bas Luhmann’s ‘Wear Sunshades’ song:-http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V_aMTayDpxw

I am so filled with gratitude today that ‘my cup runneth over’.

‘Thank you universe,’ I want to say, ‘your energies are forever and everywhere wiser and more loving and surprising than expressible or fathomable: the worst becomes the soil of the spectacular and the apparent best wears thin and becomes tarnished at the smallest breeze or shower.  My life makes sense at last, and my future is already here and so glorious that sunglasses may prove vital alongside the suncream – even in the literal snow!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

